jump to navigation

Yeah, That’s Me January 15, 2010

Posted by Jen in bipolar.
Tags: , , ,
trackback

For anyone who went to middle school or high school with me, if you thought anything of me you probably thought I was a bitch, slut, hothead, crazy, daydreamer, slacker, vain, shy, religious zealot or an abundant list of words that could go on for days.  It turns out you were all right.   I’m bipolar.  I have been living with it most of my life and wasn’t diagnosed until recently.  I held it together for the most part except when at home and until the hormones kicked in around adolescence.  That, along with other events, made the mood disorder almost uncontrollable.

Until now only my family and a select few have known about my “disability”.  I guess I was a little ashamed and afraid of how people would react.  I am ready now to share it with the world (or whoever happens upon this blog).  I don’t want to hide who I am and bipolar disorder is a huge part of who I am.  I am who I am because of bipolar disorder, not in spite of it.  I wouldn’t be the strong, independent woman that I am today if I hadn’t had to fight so hard all my life.  I haven’t yet perfected living with it.  I still struggle everyday and would like to share my struggles with you, my ups and downs so to speak.

Comments»

1. Breanne - January 18, 2010

At the very top where it describes what people may have thought of you, that’s what most people think of me at my old school. It’s really sad to find out what people think of you, especially when you know they’re right, it actually hurt a little. All I can do is change for the future, and become a better person.

Jen - January 18, 2010

I can’t tell you enough, so I’ll say it again. I’m so proud of you.


Leave a comment